4. Hope You’re Right

Here’s lyric and a bit of insight into the track Hope You’re Right from the upcoming CD Band Not the Weapon:

Dreaming southbound, interstate is a world away
The stars, they know just what to say, but lights won’t let them
The strain of something I once heard from long ago, when it sings I’ll let you know, just know that I’m listening
and I hope you’re right, this is something that steals lightning and it’s over before you know
This compass points to things this highway does not know, the roadsigns speak but seldom show, show what I’m thinking
Still strains of something I once heard from far away, the song seems closer still today, the song seems closer
and I hope you’re right, this is something that steals lightning and it’s over before you know
I know, I know these things, they come and go
They whisper in like thieves and leave me lying low
I hope you’re right
because it’s over before you know
and I hope you’re right, this is something that steals lightning and it’s over before you know.

©2012 Tom Townsend (BMI) all rights reserved
from the upcoming CD Band Not the Weapon, American Catapult (FSR)

This is one of the few songs on the record that have not yet been played live by AmCat. Came from writing in 2009, looking for new material to play alongside songs like Sight for Sore Eyes. We all liked the chorus immediately, and repeat it a lot since it’s the hook. The verses have changed a couple of times, but it’s always come back to this original lyric and feel. I’m not overly creative in writing, don’t seem to branch out too much from lyrical ideas or themes, at least that’s what others have written about me and I think it’s true. This comes from memory and influence like most of the rest. The strain of something I once heard is referring to songs, music, that influenced me as a kid that still resonate comfort and hope to me even today. I had a fairly optimistic childhood but the encouragement came not so much from adults as from songs. Something that ‘steals lightning’ sounds like but is not exactly a phrase I remember hearing once – I thing that happens so fast and is here and gone so quick that it could actually steal lightning as it fell from the sky. I like that image, it’s unique to me. Like tough times, it’s over before you know.

I played this for our friend Bob Rice on KYRS at the end of July, it’s now in Get Your AmCat on our Facebook page. Go have a listen to how the melody works. Later this month I’ll put the finished studio version on the same page.

Leave Your Brilliant Reply

